Bags of support for Murray

Wimbledon fever is here. But what caught my attention wasn’t the fact that our Wimbledon hopeful had won his first match. I was more interested in his racket bag. It was emblazoned with messages of support from Facebook fans, including “Believe in yourself and never give up.” Another simply said: “Make history.”

The PR stunt was created by Murray’s sponsor, Head and were selected from a Facebook campaign designed to provide the world’s number four with inspiration at Wimbledon.

Murray said: ‘People sent them in although I didn’t choose them. I didn’t look at them today but I could do if things weren’t going that well on court and I felt like I needed to.’

I think it’s a shame he didn’t choose them himself, but it definitely got the PR coverage it was after. And it is a good example of a brand using Facebook to add value to a campaign instead of simply tagging on a page at the end.

Now all that’s left is to see if it works. Come on Andy!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Digital, PR, Social media and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

