Summer breaks

Yes, I know, ad breaks are when people go to the loo, make a cup of tea, mute the telly – no one watches the ads, blah, blah, blah… Yes, I’ve heard it all before, but someone’s got to, right? That person is me. I love ads. Not all of them, just the good ones. That’s why this post is dedicated to the fab few that caught my eye this summer.

First up is the Boots summer campaign. I think these ads are great, really great. The idea, the houmor, the casting and the fact that they’re just so true. In keeping with the Here Come The Girls campaign, it shows a group of girlfriends getting ready for the summer and all the preparation it entails.

Alongside these are ads for their opticians and hearing care offerings, which are equally as good. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find as many examples as I’d like.

The next ad I want to mention, is one I’ve been meaning to post up for a while – Cancer Research UK. The fact that all the people in it are just like you or me makes it extremely powerful. And it’s shot with such sensitivity that I really listen to every person.

The ad features cancer patients and survivors, and focuses on the emotions and realities of receiving a cancer diagnosis as well as getting the all clear. Nearly all charity ads have a heartfelt message but with so many about these days it’s easy switch off. This one gets me every time.

The Weetabix ad has been a slow burner for me. I wasn’t hugely fussed with it at first but now I really like it. The new campaign dramatises the role Weetabix can play in setting people up for a busy day and focuses on the gentle rivalries that exists in all households – a competition that everyone has but no one really wants to win.

The sign off – Fuel for Big Days – is great and reiterates that well known message that you should always start the day with a good breakfast, and with its slow release credentials this ad is telling us that Weetabix is it.

Supporting the TV is a series of nationwide radio ads, smartphone initiatives, social media and YouTube activity.

I think what all these ads have in common is that they’re easy to relate to. They tap into our emotions. And they’ve all remained true to their brand. End of post. You can switch off now.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Fashion & Beauty, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

